LBDA

Nelotanserin for Potential Treatment of Visual Hallucinations in LBD

What is this study about?

This trial is testing an experimental drug, nelotanserin, to determine if it is safe and effective in treating visual hallucinations in people with Lewy body dementia.

What is involved?

The study begins with a double-blind, placebo controlled phase, which means neither the researcher nor the person in the study will know who is getting the investigational medication, nelotanserin, or a placebo. Then, the study will continue with an open-label extension, in which all participants will receive the investigational medicine.

Participants in this study will attend an initial screening visit plus another 7 visits over approximately 18 weeks. Transportation assistance to and from study visits may be available.

Who can participate?

An individual with LBD may be able to take part in the trial if he/she:

  • Is between the ages of 50 and 85
  • Has been diagnosed with dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB) or Parkinson’s disease dementia (PDD)
  • Has frequent visual hallucinations

How can you learn more?

State City Study Contact Contact info
CA Fountain Valley Vickie Bounkousohn 714-378-5074
vickie@pmdi.org
FL NEW:
Boca Raton
Jamie Lovering 561-392-1818
jlovering@parkinsonscenter.org
FL Orlando Nadia Afghani 407-210-1316
nafghani@compassresearch.com
KS NEW:
Lenexa
Leigh Kreshal 913-827-4262
lkreshel@neurokc.com
NC Chapel Hill Mallory Jolly 336-423-4192
mjolly28@live.unc.edu
NE Lincoln Kelly Espenschade
 

Chaitasi Majmudar

Gitti Janwatanagool

402-817-2235
kespenschade@premierpsych.com
 
402-817-2225
cmajmudar@premierpsych.com

402-817-2238 gjanwatanagool@premierpsych.com

OH Cleveland Patricia Clark 216-445-9382
clarkp5@ccf.org
OH Columbus Jennifer Icenhour 614-293-6882
Jennifer.Icenhour@osumc.edu
TX NEW:
San Antonio
Sue Rafati 210-614-6000
rafati.sue@sleeptrc.com

Study Sponsor: 

Axovant Sciences, Ltd.

Still have questions?

For more information about this clinical trial, please contact Axovant Sciences at (919) 425-0709.