View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 9:38 am

Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Love/Sexuality: how to respond? 

Post Love/Sexuality: how to respond?
Hi--

This is my first time posting. I am not a caregiver but have a long time, long-distance romantic relationship/deep friendship with a person in her early 70's who I am coming to suspect (strongly) may have LBD. She lives across the country, and I see her five or six times a year for three or four days at a time.

I do not notice cognitive or language problems--she is very bright and highly educated, but sometimes she seems a befuddled in terms or making plans. I don't see her in situations where she has to do a lot of analytical thinking. On recent visit, she had visual hallucinations, and extremely vivid dreams in which she flailed around. She also told me she has started to have excruciating leg cramps. She's also become much more emotional and romantic--clingy, which she has never been before. . She has no history of mental illness that I know.

We are both windowed. She has no close family. She recently had a medical exam, and they didn't find any problems--stoke, etc. Am I being an alarmist? How could I broach the subject?

Also--embarrassing--she's become VERY sexual. It is not unpleasant--in fact, some of it is nice--but it is out of character, and kind of obsessive, not only in person but on the phone, etc. A few people on the board have said they noticed this in men but have not seen anything on women. I do not know how to manage this. I know she would be devastated if I broke off the relationship entirely, but I do not want to do anything to harm her if she does have dementia. I'd appreciate any thoughts or advice. Thank you.

Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:36 pm

Post Re: Love/Sexuality: how to respond?
Grenda- thank you for your post. I am confident that you will receive the necessary support you need from one of our members.