View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 1:20 am

Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Clingy husband 

Post Clingy husband
We are relatively new to Lewy. Just got dx'd between Oct - Jan. We only recently reached the point of needing to have a companion from 10 - 2 if I am working, so he is not alone longer than 1-2 hours.
The worst part is he is only happy with me. He is happiest if I lay down with him in the afternoons and sit and read to him at night. Some of this is fine. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy spending time with him. He has been my bestfriend and love for 20+ years. However, I'm getting to the point that I do nothing else but lay or sit with him. Consequently my housework is suffering, I rarely make it to the gym. I work part-time as an RN OR-superviser, we have a 16 year old daughter, I take care of-as much as a 16 year old requires(she is a true gem!), and I care for my hubby and the house. He is significantly oldr than I. Anyway, I want to be with him while he is as well as he is, and I feel really guilty when I'm not. He actually seems more oriented when I just stay by his side all day. But I know that's not realistic for the longterm...Any suggestions???????

Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:21 pm

It's lovely that he is happiest sharing intimate moments with you. Perhaps you can choose a helper who has some of the qualities he appreciates in you, someone who will read to him and perhaps do some physical exercises that he enjoys so that he can enjoy their time together. I've been lucky to have had such a helper for the past 2 years, and he and my husband have shared an interest in looking for plants and flowers around the neighborhood, in reading the paper together, and listening to books on tape. I know it's difficult to find such dedicated helpers, but perhaps you should ask around for one.

Doris

Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:02 am