View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:30 pm

Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Do they ever sleep? 

Post Do they ever sleep?
I'm new to this websight and the world of LBD. My Mom is 84 years old and has been being treated for Parkinsons for the last 9 years. Only recently the last week in May did my Mom stop sleeping, the hallucinations increased greatly, the state of not being awake but not asleep. Everything that I've seen written in all your stories is my life. My Dad and I have worked out a pretty good system to keep Mom home, but the doctors have not found any medication to help my Mom sleep. Right now she is only on Simanet for the Parkinsons, melatonin, and 10 mg Namenda. She does not sleep day or night more than 15 minutes to half hour at a time, then she is up walking around and around. She can acutally stand in the middle of the room and fall asleep for a while, but if I try to get her to lay down she refuses. Do they ever sleep again for any length of time, or is this just LBD?

Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:43 pm

Have you read the Boeve "Continuum" paper's sleep dysfunction section? Have all of those meds been tried?

Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:21 pm

I've been looking at the area you suggested, the only meds I'm finding are melatonin and clozapine. We are using the melatonin but haven't tried clozapine.

Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:57 pm

There's a chart that lists various LBD symptoms. I'm quite sure trazadone and zolpidem are listed as sleep aides; the symptom is likely "insomnia." Please look again.

Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:43 pm

Post Sleep Meds