View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:01 pm

Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Tips for Controlling Stressors 

Post Tips for Controlling Stressors
My husband John was diagnosed with LBD in June 2007. His neurologist suggested that I share some of what I am doing to care for him on this website and that I write a book on caregiving. So I am in the process of writing the book on practical tips for caregivers of LBD patients. Since I am fairly new on this journey, I would love to hear from others who know much more about what works.
This is my first attempt to publicly share a small segment of the tips section of the book. I invite comments and suggestions to add to what I am writing that may eventually help others.

This segment is about controlling stressors.

I have become convinced over time that controlling stress is a key to managing this disease. When things are calm or my response to a fear, worry, or frustration is soft toward John, everything simply works better. The day is sweeter and John’s physical symptoms seem to be better.

Here are some tips that have worked for me.

1. Choose the lesser stressor when there is an option for how to do something.
2. Eliminate people from your daily routine who will drag you down emotionally. Add people who “get it”.
3. Learn to say no. You already have a huge job and ministry to do.
4. Prioritize what you need to do in your day and try to work that plan.
5. Choose the important over the urgent.
6. Ignore negative people and comments. They will drain you of energy you need.
7. Laugh every chance you get. Spend as much time as possible with those who make you laugh and whom you make laugh.
8. Make time for yourself to recharge your batteries. Do some things you really like to do, on purpose, as part of your priorities.
9. Exercise.
10. Organize your financial matters to simplify when and where you pay your bills and handle your investments.