View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:42 am

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Helping sibling adjust to parent's condition? 

Post Helping sibling adjust to parent's condition?
I am not sure if this is the right category so please redirect me if it is not.
One of my siblings just visited our mother for the first time in three years (almost one year post-DX) and was really disturbed by the changes in her, despite my having sent out regular updates to all my siblings via e-mail all year). I don't know the best way to help. I have explained the course of the illness and the question keeps coming back as to when all the changes will occur. I'm no expert but I know enough to say that it is not predictable because everyone is different. I do understand wanting to know, but does anyone have any suggestions? Other than the most obvious--educate yourself. That has not worked. I think there is some denial going on, e.g., my sibling would not even set foot into the SNF where Mother lives ("didn't want to remember her that way"). (To which I thought, to myself, "Welcome to my world"). Any ideas would be welcome.

Thanks,

Julianne

Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:58 pm

Post Re: Helping sibling adjust to parent's condition?
Julianne -

My suggestion is to give no further thought to this sibling. Include the sibling on your regular reports but don't engage in predictions or any other questions. What's the point? It's simply a waste of your time.

You might recommend a book such as "After Shock" (aftershockbook.com).

Robin

Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:03 pm

I think you need to just go about doing what you're already doing - keep people abreast of what's happening, but between your brother or sister not visiting for 3 years, being in denial, not wanting to visit her in the SNF and not wanting to be educated OR helping you out, there's nothing you more you should do, in my opinion.