View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:41 am

Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Admittance to nursing home facility 

Post Admittance to nursing home facility
I have made arrangements to admit my LO into a nursing home in a few weeks. My question is: should I leave him alone there for a little while, to avoid confusing him? Or should I go often right away so he knows he is not forsaken?
Thanks, Anne

Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:52 pm

If it were me I would be there often until he settles in his new surrounding and then maybe you can back off a little to where you are comfortable!

Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:45 pm
Profile WWW

Anne, God bless you, you must be all over the board with emotions. I have no experience with a family member going into a NH. I "think" I would go right away and see how it goes. Trust your gut feeling. You may be a better caregiver for your LO after he's in the NH, you can take care of youself and possibly have some quality time with him. I'll be thinking of you.
Gerry

Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:50 pm

There is a facility in the SF Bay Area that *requires* family members to NOT visit their loved ones for 2 weeks. This turned out to be a disaster for one family. When the family did "sneak" a visit, the family ended up taking their father to the ER for dehydration, etc. This experience was enough to tell me never to follow that requirement.

Wed Jul 08, 2009 2:32 am

Post post subject
Stay away from any facility that makes family wait for two weeks to visit. Thats awful. You should be allowed to drop in unannounced any time. I hope I never have to put my LO in a home but I am learning to say "never say never". At this time I am committed to keeping him at home, however I have all kinds of people telling me "You can't do that". I think to myself "oh yes I can". This is his home too. I'll find a way.
MH

Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:56 am