View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 9:01 am

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Introductions 

Post Introductions
HI; I have been on here a short while but don't know if my Introduction worked as I can't find it. My husband was dx with PD in 2003 but had REM sleep disorder prior to that for a few years, and bad reactions to anesthetic and antipsychotic meds, and one med added for the parkinson's in addition to Prolopa. He has had noticable memory problems since 2007 but more than likely was compensating prior to that as some odd lapses in memory happened before (like forgetting to pick me up from work and not being in reach to call. I am a retired nurse so I am at present taking care of him alone. Family is far away as his son is 2 hours drive away and one of my sons work in Wesern Canada and the other lives in Honolulu, so physical support is lacking. At present my husband is like a 3 yr. old child with language and vision problems. Follows me around and if he can't see me, even in the same room, he is calling to me. This is crazy making but managable. It certaily is easier to look after someone for 8 or 12 hours that 24/7.

Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:05 pm

Post Re: Introductions
HI Anne,
Welcome to the forum! Glad to see you found the Introductions thread! Sounds like you have your hands full there so keep chatting on the forum here as one form of support. Then, I would be in touch with healthcare and see what they can set up for you. You should be able to get someone coming in to help at least a couple of times a week. And if you're OK with baths, etc. than you can use the companion care to get out of the house yourself and do something just for you. The caregiving can become all encompassing if you don't step back now and then!

Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:35 pm

Welcome Anne, and come here often for support, advice, suggestions, whatever you need. We've all BTDT or are currently going through being a CG. Lynn

Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:25 pm