View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:22 pm

Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Sharing w Caregivers of LBD Patients with Capgras Syndrome 

Post Sharing w Caregivers of LBD Patients with Capgras Syndrome
Hello. This is my first time using this site, and I am looking forward to sharing with, and learning from, other LBD caregivers. My husband was diagnosed with a MCI level of LBD a few months ago and is on the Exelon patch. The first symptoms that brought this to a head were periods in early February of misidentification of me, which seem to be classic examples of the Capgras Syndrome. He started to have delusions that other women were taking my place at times, as imposters, even though they looked like me and seemed to know everything about our daily routine and our life together.
He ultimately went through extensive testing under the care of an excellent neurologist, including eight hours of neuropsychological tests, and LBD seems to be the most accurate diagnosis. Looking back, we believe he has had some of the problems or symptoms likely for four or five years and they are progressing.
Although the Exelon patch is helping "somewhat" with his memory and day-to-day living, he still has off and on periods with the Capgras Syndrome, usually in blocks of a week to ten days. He was free of any occurences for about three weeks, and we thought an increased dosage to the 9.5 mg Exelon patch was helping. But then the Capgras delusions returned. They are just now disappearing, I hope for a long while.