View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:30 pm

Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 I am NEW to LBDA and my name is Kimberly. (Kim) 

Post I am NEW to LBDA and my name is Kimberly. (Kim)
Hello , I just wanted to share my story about my aunt Tereca who suffers terrible from this ongoing disease called Lewy Body Dementia.
It began about 7 yrs ago however she was just diagnosed 3 yrs ago from her Neurologist. She lives alone, but that changed since she went into the Hospital for a kidney infection in January of 2008. This was the Month that I became her primary caregiver. From that time up until now we have experienced a lot of trials and errors, and fluctuations and Hallucinations.
I do believe the kidney infection only worsened her condition as she was on Parkinsons meds at that time and to add antibiotics (Levaquinn) to this disease was a bad call. This only put her back into the Hospital with severe hallucinatins along with taking Comptan. We found through experience with different meds.. that LBD is extremely very sensative. This can cause the disease to worsen... and worse it can also cause death.