View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:34 pm

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 New to LBDA 

Post New to LBDA
Hi there - I'm so glad to find the LBDA forum - I've used the Alzheimers forum before but my dad was finally diagnosed with LBDA and I found this site. The hardest part for me is keeping up with the groups and people and staying online. Life gets busy. I am 35 years old, newly married (3 weeks!) with a almost 4 year old son. I am the primary caregiver for my 67 year old father with LBD. He has had this going on 6 years now and is in the advanced stages. I have been doing this for over 3 years now, I live with Dad, and am about out of my mind. I just can't do this anymore, honestly. We almost lost him in Dec., he couldn't swallow and stopped eating and drinking - when we stopped his meds he slowly got better. We suspect that maybe the Zyprexa was the problem as it stated it could cause swallowing problems. Dad also has post-polio syndrome, which doesn't help. He had a trach as a child. He is currently on Seroquel and Trazedone and the Exelon patch (just started). Occasionally we have to give him Ativan. The meds just really aren't helping at this point.