View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 New at this, 

Post New at this,
Hello I am new to this whole thing. My mom is 75 and she has LBDw/P. She wasn't diagnosed until June of last year. She has been ill for the last 4 years. She was in a nursing home and I have just taken her home with us. My Husband and myself.
So far so good. I am use to her hallucinations, it is the sleeping so much and the refusing to take her medicines, and one of her Heart meds causes her to unrinate so much. She does wear the pull ups all the time, and we are all the time in the bathroom. I spend more time in the bath room than anywhere else. I can see the transgression with her brain because her legs are not responding when she wants to walk, and sometimes she just forgets she has to move her legs. Her shakes are really bad but Praise God she can still feed herself with some clever tricks I learned from the nurses where she was. Her drinks I use a small cup with a straw attatched to it and I cover the top with clear plastic wrap so she won't spill it. Her tray I use a plate with high sides to it, and almost always give her a spoon, easier for her to bring her food to her mouth with out dropping it.
I Love my mom very much and want to make sure the last few years she has with us she enjoys all she can while she still can.
I keep looking on-line for the diffrent stage types of LBD and I can't find any. I have no idea what the sever stage contains. I know she is in the moderate to sever stage now. But what can I expect. What do I need to prepare for. If any one out there can clue me in I would greatly appreciate it.
We feel very blessed to be able to have my mom home.I know the Lord has and will keep on giving me the stregth to take care of her. Because I could never do this with out Him!