View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:38 am

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Newbie in Texas- Seriously needs some support! 

Post Newbie in Texas- Seriously needs some support!
Hello!
My Mom was diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease (or so we thought) in 2005. She was 58. After many Dr's and some awful medication side effects, things went downhill very rapidly. She was hospitalized 3 times early 2008 and then properly diagnosed and treated for LBD. She went straight from the hospital to an Assisted Living Center for Alzheimer/Dementia patients on March 28, 2008 at 61. My life changed forever that evening! I don't think I cried that much in years! Her illness coincided with me and my husband having our IVF miracle baby that took so long to have, so you can imagine it has been bittersweet. Some days I handle all the emotional baggage well and other days I am barely making it. I have my own health issues that I try to take care of. I am NOT good at handling stress anymore. I end up getting sick or just suffer a bout of pure exhaustion.

I am her only daughter and only child who lives IN the same state. We were incredibly close as Mother and Daughter and I don't know how to fully grieve her while she is still here. I mean I think I have a month that goes by with no crying, then a full day of on and off tears. I guess that will continue to happen until she passes. I am really enjoying each and every moment I do have with her. I do feel like somthing died in me that March evening when I knew she wasn't ever coming back to her home. My stepdad does comment I don't go over to his/their home much. I get terribly sad being there. There isn't a place in their home that isn't Mom. I want to join the Forum to learn from others and try to adapt to this horrible journey life has dealt our family as well as yours.