View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:22 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 I'm a newbie 

Post I'm a newbie
My Father has Lewy's and I think he is in the final stages of this awful illness. He is in a Nursing Home in Leicester and I don't seem to get any answers from the carers there. I am not in contact with his wife ( my Step Mother) and because I have asked questions about his care on numerous occasions I am considered a bit of a pain.... I have read a lot of the posts on your site and find them very informative and very moving. Up to 2 weeks ago my Dad was mobile, able to feed himself and could recognise myself and my sister on our visits. Since last week he has become a totally different person, unable to walk, finding it hard to swallow and cannot feed himself, the most upsetting thing for me was the total lack of recognition and ability to speak( even though he did not much made sense before) I did get a smile I think...I asked the carers for information on Dads decline but all they say is.. it's a progression of his illness!!!.

I have so many questions.

How long will we have left with Dad.?.

Is he in pain ?

Can he understand what is happening to him? ( God I hope not)

Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:27 pm
Welcome to the LBDA forums, I am glad you found us and I hope we can be of some help to you in your quest for some answers, Often when there is a sudden down turn it could mean some sort of infection, LBD'ers don't handle UTI's or pnemonia very well and yes this can be common, those are the things I would be looking for and also if they have been given any Neuroleptic drugs, such as Haldol. Please visit the LBDA the link is below my name there is much information there.
Good Luck!

Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:39 pm